Water distilling tests

Bloffy13

Jon Muir
Reaction score
Going out with Army Cadets for a survival exercise on weekend after ANZAC day so have been upskilling and revisiting old skills to get myself up to scratch.
Something I have never tried before is creating a still so I grabbed an empty Milo tin, punched a cross shape in the top with my Mora, bent the sharp edges back and poked just the end of about a metre of 1/2 inch clear tubing through the hole.
Filled it with rain water and put it on the BBQ vegie pot burner (We've still got fire restrictions here. I am praying for good rains before the training weekend so we'll be able to have fires.)

desal1.jpg

Within minutes started producing water. Gave it about 30 minutes before pulling it off. Had about 3/4 cup of hot water.
Drank this when it cooled and it was ok so then I added about a good handful of table salt to the Milo tin water and restarted the test.
Same result with good, drinkable water after 30 minutes therefore mission successful.
Thought I would try cooling it down by placing the cup in a half plastic juice bottle full of water. Result: A hot half plastic juice bottle full of water.

desal3.jpg

Next I tried a baking tin full of cold water, with the pipe running through it. Still a lot of steam escaping but water production a bit better.

desal6.jpg

Took the top of the juice bottle and positioned it on a slight angle over the top of the cup so escaping steam would condense on the plastic and run back down into the cup. Not a lot of extra water produced but in a sur@#$%l situation every drop counts.

desal4.jpg

Would love to be able to increase the rate of return for energy expended. Ideas people?
Next, I thought, I rarely ever find random Milo tins with a good lid in the bush but I nearly always carry a stainless steel water bottle. So same set up but this time with my water bottle sealed by a bandana-sized piece of cotton material, slightly offset so I could get a decent seal.

desal5.jpg