Vibram Five Fingers

Blake

Nest In the Hills
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Im really intrigued buy these things. I would love to hear if anyone has worn them or knows anyone who wears them. Looks like they could be a great solution for having foot protection with the agility and control you get from being bare foot. Seems research is indicating its a better way to run also.

http://www.vibramfivefingers.it/eng/footwear.aspx

swampy99

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
I have a pair and yes they could be used in the field but found that I prefer to wear boots. I did get them to start "Barefoot" running but have gone back to wearing trainers as teh knees don't feel so smashed after 5k's. I can see the benifts but seeing as I have been wearing shoes boots for the last 40 years it would take a long time to feel the change. have you looked into soft star shoes http://www.softstarshoes.com/ they give you the same barefoot feel but with out the things between you toes.

Dusty Miller

Alexander Pearce
Archivist
Reaction score
@swampy How did you find them for scrambiling over rocks?

I think the principle advantage of the five toes is freaking people out in shopping centres.

swampy99

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
they are OK for most stuff but if climbing use climbing shoes seeing as most peoples feet are knakered from wearing shoes and there toes have deformed due to the shape of shoes then to suddenly wear someting that is made to fit a normal foot with splade toes is uncomfortable. SWMBO calls them my monkey feet when I wear them as they are the brown colour and they do look like monkey feet. But your right you will get funny looks in the shopping malls.

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Reaction score
We met a guy a few weeks ago at the hammock meetup that wore these on the 10km of firetrail walk out. He said he was feeling it a little at the end, but didn't seem to have any real problems. I'd like to try a pair for track walks and creek bashes.

Templar