Tracking Skills

Templar

F. C. Selous DSO
Reaction score
Of all the skills a Bushman has, none are more important, for both the scouting of game and in times of hostilities when we need to locate possible threats in the woods, before or after an event.

Tracking is a skill, some will equate it to an art, but it is a skill any person can learn given enough time, practise and a good mentor. It is not a skill that can be learned from a book or from a single post on a blog. However, these sources can aid you in learning some of the skills needed for tracking.

I studied tracking under a couple of different people, my first teacher came from Southern Africa, he was at one time a soldier, a game ranger and a hunter. He spent a great deal of time tracking enemy combatants in Mozambique and later in Angola & South West Africa (now Namibia). From him I studied mostly, what could be called “Unconventional” Tracking experienced in Africa in the 70’s and 80’s.

My other teachers were military instructors of the jungle warfare school in Northern Australia; they came from many backgrounds and were a wealth of knowledge when it comes to dense jungle and forests.

I love tracking; it opens your eyes to a completely new world, especially when you combine it with other scouting skills. A tracker is the epitome of the scout and woodsman.

What is tracking?

Simply put it is the application of observation combined with knowledge of the bush, to follow and catch a fixed quarry.

How do we track? How do you read the signs left behind?

These signs are called spoor, a 19th Century Afrikaans word (Spor) meaning “track”, as in animal foot prints. Spoor falls broadly into two areas, ground and aerial, ground spoor is anything that is found below the level of your ankle, aerial spoor is found from ankle to over your head.

Ground spoor:

- Foot prints

- Disturbed earth

- Kicked over rocks

- Crushed insects

- Embedded twigs

- Transferred mud/soil/sand

- blood

Aerial Spoor: