Suitable trees/plants to use for fire crafting?

jakeyarwood

Malcolm Douglas
Reaction score
Currently looking into making a couple of different primitive fire kits to practice indoors with. I'm new to all the flora here so am unsure which woods are best to use when constructing a bow drill / hand drill setup. What are your favoured materials to use for your hearth board, drills and bows? Suggestions appreciated! I'm in Perth, WA so anything specific to the area would be great.

Last edited:

Jeepcreep

Lofty Wiseman
Reaction score
This may not be helpful,due to the fact I'm from the US,and I'm not familiar with plants from your area.I favor yucca stalks for my spindles,and if you tie two stalks parallel,they make great fire boards.Another fire board I favor is poplar or Cotten wood,also quaking aspen.For bows,any dried/ dead but solid hard wood is good,a natural curve in good,but not required.
As far as hand drills,again I favor the stalk of a yucca,fire boards also like the bow drill set up.A little tip when using a bow drill,apply a little lubrication in the bearing block hole,( ear wax works well) to cut down on friction and heat build up in the bearing block.

Thrud

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
Lucky to be in WA, plenty of grasstree spears which make a excellent drill and board, I think Hairyman suggested using starter cable to use on the bow, which is an excellent idea. I've got spare if you need it. For the bearing block any hardwood(aren't they all!) ear wax or oil from the side of your nose, a little charcoal or sand for the board. The tinder ball; well that's where the fun starts...

blacklion

Lofty Wiseman
Reaction score
They Thrud I grabbed a stack of grassheads and had them in thw cupboard drying for a few months. I tried the other day to make a simple hand drill and even tried the plough method witg both failing. A faint smell of burning, no blackening or smoke it just indented. Any thoughts on that?

Thrud

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score