"Setopress" pressure bandage

biggles1024

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
I did a search on the name of this bandage but didn't turn up any results so thought I'd start a new thread.

I've just learned of the existence of this bandage and am wondering if anyone in the forum has any experience with it or any thoughts about it.

On the surface, it seems like a good idea but on the other hand, I'm wondering how common it is for first aiders to apply crepe or elastic bandages with an inappropriate amount of tension thus resulting in either venom moving from the patients lymphatic system into their bloodstream or if too tight, causing a partial or complete amputation to be performed at a later date.

I'm also wondering how this bandage might stack up against the Israeli Army bandage, the one with the plastic pressure bar.

The website is here http://www.bsar.org/setopress

Brumby53

Mors Kochanski
Reaction score
This looks good to me. I sold First Aid Supplies for a living for a few years and saw this type of bandage for use by Diabetics to get correct tension. Those are not appropriate for Snake Bite as the tension is NOT enough.
It seems someone has taken the idea one step further and produced one suitable for snake bite.
For other reasons I have been a member of Independence Australia for about 20 years and I would 100% guarantee they would not be selling this product if they weren't positive it does what is claimed.
That said Crepe bandages come in a range of 'strengths' (for want of a better word) light, medium and Heavy. I have always carried Heavy 150mm x 2 M Bandages for snake bite & I would be happy/confident using it
for snake bite. Fortunately I have never needed to. (With these ...when you think you have the right tension you probably haven't pull it up some more)
I am not familiar with the Israeli Bandage.

ArcheRoo

Lofty Wiseman
Reaction score