BushcraftOz | The Australian Bushcraft Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Re introduction

WanderOn

Malcolm Douglas
Reaction score
Figure I would re introduce myself as the more I read on this forum the more I realise what I’m trying to achieve.

Bit of background is myself and soon to be wife are planning a trip round Australia starting January 2023 with our 3 kids.

Selling up all our junk except for some sentimental items and renting out the house with no intensions of returning to the house or current lifestyle.

I’m an electrician by trade with too many years in heavy industry, high voltage and underground mining. The last 10 years or so have been in underground mining automation, so basically getting the black stuff out quicker. Lots of moral implications there but that’s another discussion.

We’re looking to live a simpler life and find where we feel at home. Currently living west Lake Macquarie which has unfortunately become busier and more crowded and will only get worse with huge developments going ahead.

Have slowly been preparing a 1999 HZJ105 Landcruiser and camper. Lots of preventative maintenance and some mods to improve off-road ability and suit our needs. Will behave and not go on too much about the car. Growing up always had old cars around being restored so buying a new car wasn’t an option.

Unfortunately most of my skills are applicable to mining and heavy industry. I have been slowly learning but need to spend a lot more time in the bush.

With regards to our big trip, it’s not so much specific destinations are our goals but time spent exploring, learning and just being in the bush together.

A5D9D92F-7CA3-4B36-9BF7-87D716679503.jpeg

Aussie123

Never Alone In The Bush
Staff member
Reaction score