Personality type, Faith, The Third Man and the Temporo-parietal junction

barefoot dave

Mors Kochanski
Reaction score
or ‘Ramblings on Survival Psychology’

This started out as a short response to trailrider in the ‘Living alone’ thread:
http://bushcraftoz.com/forums/showthread.php?5764-Living-alone-in-the-wilderness-advice/page6
It got a bit long and there was also a lack of specific talk on this subject so I let my ego free to post a bit about it. Much of what I discuss will be familiar to you. Many bush/ survival Rules or SOPS are grounded on the following. This may explain Why they are.

Firstly, I am not a psychologist or neurologist. I am an inspired amateur who has been seeking to understand these strange creatures I share the Earth with, called Humans ;) It also seems that in my journeys, I have misplace my own user’s manual and have to learn how to get the best out of my systems by observing others and applying this to myself.
As a child, I came into contact with some ’interesting’ people that didn’t match my previous experiences of ‘normal’ behaviour. In my adult years, I spent a long time involved with recon/ surveillance and Intelligence types (now referred to as ISR) and later still in the Security industry. I now work in the area of Emergency Response Leadership. I am also pre-wired to pull things apart and observe why they work a certain way. What am I gonna do? Fight all that?! ;)
In short, I do not post this info authoritatively, but as stuff I have found and observed.

Personality type (whatever scale you use) and learned behaviours are an extremely important affecter in Emergency Situations, be they spontaneous (accidents) or planned (remote operations).
My definition of an Emergency situation differs from many but is based on the stakes at risk. In normal circumstances a small error of judgement has small consequences, in an Emergency it has disproportionately large (even fatal) consequences.