Help needed to Track on grass

Steve McFadden

Malcolm Douglas
Reaction score
Hi, I was hoping some of the experienced trackers here might point me in the right direction. I recently started trying to teach myself to track, so far I have concentrated on tracking myself on bare ground with the tracks running in a variety of directions relative to the sun. Slowly, slowly I am learning. The difference between sandshoes and bare feet was suprising to me.

I have moved to trying to track myself on grass. It's still very early days but I gave it a test run on knee height green grass (Buffalo?), a ankle length dry wiry grass and some waist/mid chest height dry grass. The tall dry grass was not too bad but found I needed to be almost looking down the "track" to see it. However the other two were a complete failure other than I studied a bit about how the lie naturally which of course is part of the learning process.

Would someone be kind enough to give me some points on what too look for, or a suggested plan to start with (eg start on long green with the sun behind you).

I have been using a tracking stick.

Thanks Steve

barefoot dave

Mors Kochanski
Reaction score
G 'day Steve.
Sound like you are still in the step for step phase?
Identify your key sign (footprint, grass pointers, crushed clumps etc)
Identify last definite sign
Scan out for the furthest definite sign then work your way back to your feet. Avoid seeing that which isn't there ;)
If you lose the sign, commence casting out/ lost sign drill;
Back up 2-3m, turn let or right and start casting a 3m radius circle.
As you go slowly, look 90 deg left and right.
Eventually you will 'cut' the track and it will be obvious to you that you are back on sign (this is why some call out sign cutting).
ID definite sign and continue.

Remember- all dirt time is data acquisition. Don't be discouraged by losing your own sign. You don't get good without doing the 'bad'.