Headlamp Recommendations

koalaboi

Mors Kochanski
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Thinking of a new headlamp and looking around see this for $79 on sp[ecial. Anyone got any experience with this lamp: Or any recommendations

Ta,

KB

Wanderer H1000 Rechargeable Headlight

Thrud

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
Hi KB,
I have no experience of this torch. I have had a number of torches over the years, mostly Petzl, from the old 9v through to the leds. I have had Black Diamonds, but they have a very confusing control system. I like a waterproof, dimmable headtorch with a red light function. The one I have been using for about a year is a Jetbeam HR30. It uses an 18650, and can be recharged in the torch. The headtorch can be removed from the carrier and used as a stand alone torch. If you need a lot of light you can ramp up the brightness quite impressively. I still have some Petzls. A micro in a survival kit and the Tactika which gives you the option of 3 colours, but the case has cracked by itself. The HR30 is more expensive than the wanderer however.
For me having a red light on a headtorch is important, being able to vary the output is too. The Wanderer does have some ability to change the intensity, but having the ability to go very low (moon mode) is again useful and I cannot see that the Wanderer does that. Some idea of remaining battery charge is also useful which the HR 30 does, but cannot see that listed for the wanderer. From the images the battery back is at the back; although the old, and some of the new Petzls had this, it can be a nuisance if you want to wear under any sort of helmet and the wires themselves can fray at the attachment points, so just adds another area of failure.
Just my 2c

Last edited:

koalaboi

Mors Kochanski
Reaction score
Thanks Thrud,

Some good ideas there.

I had a petzl and it was great except the batteries went too flat too quickly, the elastic headband lost its stretch very quickly and the rubber over the on/off button perished.