Fuel Boiling in Alcohol Stoves

MongooseDownUnder

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
Hi all,
Have been experimenting lately with alcohol stoves in my Canteen Shop stove stand. I keep having an issue whereby the alcohol in the stove starts to splash out and starts to flame uncontrollably. I have noticed when it gets to this stage that the alcohol is in fact boiling. I am not sure if this is normal as I have very little experience with alcohol stoves, any advice would be appreciated.

Walker

John McDouall Stuart
Reaction score
Maybe post a photo of the stove design, it sounds like a draught issue whereby the air/fuel mix is wrong and it isn't vapouring correctly. This will cause the fuel to overheat and runaway - boil and splash. If it has jets like a Trangia burner, perhaps the jets are blocked.

Thrud

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
I would try without the stand. If it doesn't happen then, it might be that using the stand causes too much reflected heat. If it occurs just by itself then something is wrong with the Trangia.

Do the test on an already burnt area of your verandah:_lol:

Aussie123

Never Alone In The Bush
Staff member
Reaction score
Its not an issue I've had, but I don't have a stove like your one.

It does sound like something’s wrong !

Alcohol stoves (all liquid fuel stoves) need to vaporise the fuel, and its actually the vapour which burns, not the liquid itself. So boiling fuel is normal and good.
But it sounds like you have too much boiling going on.

Assuming the stove itself works OK, I suspect the issue is related to your stove stand.
I think the stand its trapping too much heat / reflecting it back down into the stove, which is making the fuel boil uncontrollably.

You may have done this already, but don’t overfill the stove, try with it half full (or less).

Failing that, I think you may need a different setup, either a different stand for the stove, or a different stove for the stand !

MongooseDownUnder

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score