Dwellingup for the next WA meet?

Bloffy13

Jon Muir
Reaction score
Ok Western Australians,
Time to again start planning another WA meet.
I'm thinking Dwellingup perhaps and maybe this time we have a theme like water procurement or fire lighting or....something.
I have no real knowledge of the area. The last time I was there was about 20 years ago.
Anyone want to stick their paw in the air for this one?
It would be great to see a heap of us get together. There is a bucket load of us in WA and I, for one, would love to meet up with you.
Dwellingup is not too far from the city and is an interesting location.
Cheers
Bloffy

Redtail

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
IMHO, Dwellingup has become too restricted as a result of it being too popular. Not much room for camping where you feel like it, and long weekends require booking of a campsite.

I'd suggest Grimwade, also an old mill town, but a heap more space and less people about. Permanent water, too. About 30km SE of Donnybrook via the Kirup turnoff.
I've never car camped there - only walked thru once on the Bibb - but a WAussie over at ABF brought it to my attention.

Depending on dates, I'm happy to do a recce beforehand.

Another option is Boyagin Rock in the wandoo near Brookton. No water, might be better for a winter camp.

Thrud

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score
Thanks Redtail.

How did you go on the camp last weekend?

Bloffy13

Jon Muir
Reaction score
I'm not fussed. Dwellingup, Grimwade or Boyagin Rock, it doesn't make a difference to me but the latter are great options...
Grimwade, from the limited pix I've seen it looks the goods, and I could pick up some Kirup Syrup on the way. I think this would get my vote.
Boyagin Rock, on the other hand, is also attractive but might keep it for a winter wander.
Anyone else got any ideas?
Cheers
Bloffy

Redtail

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score