Cordage Breaking Strengths

Aussie Forager CQ

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
Hi All,

G'day everyone. Long story short, I work as a rope access technician. The employer I work for owns 'The Rack' - a hydraulic test bed designed for pulling rope, carabiners and rope access/height safety related equipment until they break and recording the force required to do so. My employer has kindly agreed to allow 'The Rack' to be used to break/test natural fibre cordage and rope made by BushcraftOZ members.

This would allow BushcraftOZ members to send in rope/cordage that they have made and have it tested and the breaking strength recorded. Then the results of the tests would be posted for viewing and use of the forum.

'The Rack' will allow the tests to be done quite scientifically, I would suggest all the interested BushcraftOZ members, together, arrange specifications for the tests and come up with a process that everyone is happy with, we could have more than one set of criteria for certain circumstance, different diameters...... whatever really, the possibilities are endless. Mainly I would suggest the aim is for collating results on the different type of fibers available in OZ.

I am happy to give some ideas that may help, from experience I've already had from seeing 'The Rack' in action.

So if anyone has any thoughts, yell out....all that is needed is people to be keen, make some cordage, send it through and we can see some results.

Anyone keen??

Wentworth

Bear Mears
Staff member
Reaction score
Great idea and offer! I wonder how we'd standardise the cordage, in terms of thickness of the component strands etc?

Aussie Forager CQ

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
Yeh I have had the same thoughts, so far I have thought we can set ideal diameters that we try to make e.g 3mm and 6mm or whatever we come up with, and then put the verniers on the test piece when we break it, maybe a system of taking an average diameter of a standard length of cord....

Corin

Jiffy