Bushcraft Relevant Rock Recognition. PART 1

auscraft

Henry Arthur Readford
Reaction score
Bushcraft Relevant Rock Recognition. PART 1

Hi all
In response to Blake’s thread The Bushcraft Topic Pin boardand a suggestion of topics by Hairyman, I have decided to start with rock recognition.

Let me start by stating I am a not an expert on this subject and will not be surprised if members here have far more knowledge than me. Infact till very recently the facts I knew about rocks could be counted on thefingers of one hand. I am out of my field here, but this is a starting place for my own learning and hopefully others.

What I knew before recent times and this one does not countas I often if not always argue is I have been told “I have rocks in my head” (as I write this I am thinking they may be right).

Prior facts;
1. Rocks were used by primitive man as tools formany things e.g. tools, weapons and fire starting.
2. People who live in glass houses should not throw rocks.
3. A guy name David slain a guy named Goliath.
4. Somerocks cost a lot of money.
5. River rocks should never be placed in or nearfires.

As this Tutorial is directly related to rock recognition in regards to bushcraft I will concentrate on the rocks mentioned in the following thread http://bushcraftoz.com/forums/showthread.php?3344-Stone-tool-resources. And will be continually added too.
A couple of questions I hope to answer here today are

1. What did we or primitive man want the rocks to be used for?
Basically we want to learn the skills of our primitive ancestors in a nut shell. For them it was a resource that offered them Fire,Tools and Weapons. Yes by striking certain rocks together it gave them a means to light fire. By shaping the stone gave them tools and weapons for defence, hunting food processing and much more.

2. How did Primitive man recognise rocks for certain tasks?
Trial and error, then the info was passed on and shared and if they moved the process started over again.