Bushcraft mods to your BLV

Mickldo

Ray Mears
Reaction score
I thought I would start a thread on mods to vehicles to make them more suitable for our wonderful hobby/ lifestyle/ pastime Bushcrafting.

Modifying off road vehicles of all sorts is my job as well as my passion. I am a mechanic by trade and I have specialized in 4wds for the most part. I have also worked as a motorbike mechanic and still ride a trailbike to work every day. I am also currently working at a fabrication workshop that among other things builds plate alloy boats. This variety has given me a wide range of skills in modifying off road vehicles.

I was thinking that this thread could be a bit of me listing out various common mods and the pros and cons of each, as well as how they fit into a bushcraft/ survival/ emergency situation, and also if anybody wanted to post up the mods they have done to their own vehicles we could all share the ideas and discuss.

The way I was thinking was if we could try to keep it to bushcraft principles of fire, water, food, shelter, navigation and communication rather than just big lifts and tyres, stereos, seat covers, etc.

The types of mods would include but not be limited to.....

Fire- stoves, fire wood racks, axe and saw holders

Water- water tanks, jerry cans, water filters, hot water systems, water pumps

Food- fridges, eskies, dry food storage, cupboards

Shelter- awnings, campers (including camper trailers and caravans), beds, safari roof mods, insulation

Navigation- GPS, compasses, map holders

Communication- UHF, HF, 27MHz, Sat phones, EPIRBs and PLBs, Spot messengers

So what do you reckon?

gelandangan

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
One of these days I would like to fit some water container inside my bumper bars.

Greatbloke

Jack Abasalom
Reaction score