Billies

Le Loup

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
Recently I purchased a billy, stainless steel, Chinese made, but I’ve been told that not all stainless steel is created equal and not all can be used over an open flame. It is a very cheap knock off from the zebra 14cm. I paid $7.95 for it.
You should not have any trouble using stainless steel on an open fire providing you do not boil it dry or allow it to get too hot to the point of melting/distorting. Personally I do not use stainless steel in a camp, but this is for historical reasons only. We do use stainless steel on our wood burning stove at home.
Regards, Keith.

Blake

Nest In the Hills
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
As Kieth said, im sure its fine. I never really got into the zebras as they are a bit heavier and I just eat out of the pot anyway so never use the plate bit or just use the lid for a plate/bowl. If you are looking for something home grown I've been using Cecil and Co billies for about 20 years now and they are great. The 1L one is perfect for hiking, enough room for all your cooking gear. I pack it with my brew pouch, cup and utensils which protects it pretty well from getting crushed. They are well priced too.

If I'm going super light weight/basic or just taking a satchel ill just take a canteen cup but anything above that I like the billy as its not much bigger, gives you a place to pack stuff, same weight and give you more water boiling capacity if you need it.

Last edited:

Randall

Rüdiger Nehberg
Reaction score
Looks good. They're reasonably wide which means you won't be wasting much of your flame. I prefer shallow and wide for speed / fuel economy and you have that. I'm guessing that dish fits inside the top of the billy, which is also useful; cook two things at once on one flame.

Now, do you have one of these?

billy grip.jpg

Redtail

Richard Proenneke
Reaction score