1960s Australian army sleep system - what am I missing?

thejungleisneutral

Walkabout
Reaction score
Horse blanket? Check. A thin olive drab woolen blanket with tabs and press studs down 3 sides. Did I mention this blanket was really thin?

Silk? Check. A jungle green polyester bag with a press stud closure halfway down one side and a plethora of loops on the inside to accept the tabs on the horse blanket. It's not even remotely waterproof, but I guess it could be windproof.

When it's put together you end up with the silk on the outside of the folded blanket, acting as a cover.

This stuff is way before my time and I've never used it before, or seen it documented anywhere, but it seems like there are components missing - it wouldn't be a very warm sleep system with just the horse blanket and the silk. It's fiddly too.

Anyone got any ideas on how it works or what's missing to make it work?

thejungleisneutral

Walkabout
Reaction score
Some pics of the items in question

IMG_20140617_004300.jpgIMG_20140617_004318[1].jpg

Up until tonight I've been using the "silk" as a sleeping bag liner and it works pretty well to add a couple of degrees to the rating of my sleeping bag.

Aussie123

Never Alone In The Bush
Staff member
Reaction score
Just a couple of guesses here, I don’t have any specific knowledge of the setup:

In cold weather, more blankets could be issued ? I remember reading that US troops in WW2 Europe could routinely issued with up to 5 blankets in winter.
I suppose that more blankets would increase the overall warmth, as necessary

Re: The Silk cover – is it actually “silk” ?
“Balloon Silk” (aka “Silk”) is actually a cotton material coated with a waterproof treatment. It was used for waterproof tents, snow tents (arctic/Antarctic expeds), and for outdoor clothing.
Even if your cover is actual silk, it may have had a coating which has since been lost ?

thejungleisneutral

Walkabout
Reaction score
Thanks Aussie.