Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharpening knives with stones

Bear Mears
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,174 Times in 680 Posts
    Bushcraft Points

Sharpening knives with stones

Here's the method I use to sharpen my knives using sharpening stones.

As a disclaimer, I am by no means an expert sharpener, but the forum doesn't currently have a sharpening demonstration by a member. If any of our amazing knife makers would like to put one together, I'll make it a sticky.
    My techniques might be considered incorrect, but I'm always happy to learn. Feel free to share your own techniques and experiences.

What type of stone?
    I use water stones, which require water when used and oil stones which (as the name might suggest) require oil on their surface during use. Other types such as diamond stones don't require any liquid. As a kid, I didn't use liquid with my stones and they became clogged with the metal being sharpened. I've used bicarb soda and steel wool to clean my stones in the past.

Does it need the stone?
    In the following drawing there are three types of edges.
    edges.jpg
    (from left to right)
    1.) a knife whose edge hasn't worn away, but has folded over, or deformed. This edge doesn't need working on a sharpening stone, it just needs a strop, or realigning on a steel or crock stick.
    2.) a knife whose edge has worn away, leaving a flat spot. This edge does need working on a sharpening stone.
    3.) a knife whose edge has been sharpened on a stone, or whose edge has been realigned. This one is good to go.

Sharpening a scandi grind on a stone
    A scandi grind is easy to sharpen as you can feel the large face of the bevel "lock" into place on the stone.
    Once the bevel is flush with the stone, I push it over the surface of the stone, from the start of the edge to the tip.
    I sharpen my knives with the edge leading, rather than trailing, as this will require less work later on with removing the burr.